Precious Blood Sisters formally install new leadership team

The Sisters of the Precious Blood formally installed their new leadership team on July 30 during a Mass at Salem Heights, the Congregation’s central house in Dayton. The team is composed of Sister Joyce Lehman, president; Sister Judy Kroeger, vice president; and Sisters Ann Clark, Marla Gipson and Terry Walter, councilors.

Sister Joyce previously served as president from 2011 to 2019. Sisters Ann Clark and Marla Gipson served as Councilors during the previous four-year term, beginning in 2019, and Sister Judy Kroeger previously served as Councilor from 1991-1999.

Father Angelo Anthony, CPPS, presided at the Mass, with Father Jack Kroeger, the brother of Sister Judy Kroeger, as concelebrant. During the homily, Father Angelo spoke of the importance of remaining “actively involved in the journey of life.”

“Living this posture is challenging, particularly for those in leadership, because it seems trouble comes their way; you don’t have to go searching for it,” he said. “But the blessing of leadership also is to see the many ways that God is at work through our Congregation; the many ways that the Precious Blood of Jesus is a source of life for people in need — a source of hope and strength.”

Following a long-standing tradition, outgoing president Sister Edna Hess presented Sister Joyce with a crucifix during Mass. In the 19th century, the crucifix was displayed in Castle Loewenberg in Switzerland where the Congregation’s foundress, Maria Anna Brunner, prayed.

The new leadership team was elected during the Sisters’ recent Assembly, held June 26-30 at the Bergamo Center in Beavercreek. Every four years, Sisters travel to Dayton to take part in the weeklong congress.

Founded in Switzerland in 1834 by Maria Anna Brunner, the Sisters of the Precious Blood serve in the United States, Chile and Guatemala, proclaiming God’s love by being a life-giving, reconciling presence in our fractured world. Their central house has been located on Salem Avenue in Dayton since 1923.

Clockwise from top left, Sisters Marla Gipson, Ann Clark, Terry Walter, Joyce Lehman and Judy Kroeger; Michelle Bodine photo.

Comments are closed.